top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeverly Mackie

Healing Praise - Classroom Mantra

Updated: Apr 8, 2020

I wrote the following mantra after working with several groups of elementary children at a Christian school. We would begin our tutoring session with this Healing Praise empowered with scripture. Call it what you like: mantra, affirmation, confession or pledge. I just know it made a difference in my classes.

Mrs. Mackie's Class Mantra

I am a new creature predestined for greatness.

I have wisdom, and I make wise choices.

My teachers are anointed to teach in a manner that I can understand.

My mind is alert and anointed to understand, retain, explain, and apply.

I approach my work without fear and do my work to the best of my ability in excellence.

I have favor with my teachers, friends, and family.

I am healed and sickness does not lord over my body. Therefore, I have good attendance in school.

I have control over my body and emotions. I do things decently and in order.

I listen with my ears; think with my mind; speak wisdom and knowledge with my tongue.

I am loved regardless of how I perform.

I believe I am an overcomer, and all of my needs are met. I hold fast to these words.

Mrs. Mackie, I am ready to learn and achieve.

Note, I reply: I am prepared and ready to teach!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Initially, the students would repeat it after me. Then, they wanted to lead. So, they took turns. Sometimes, we said it in unison. If it appeared I was going to start class without doing our pledge, they would remind me. I would say after about a week, a third grader had a good old fashion tantrum. That’s when I added the word emotions when I referred to having control over your body. The next day, the third grader arrived a few minutes early to apologize. Once our session began, we recited the healing praise, but I decided to lead it. As I was reading the phrase, “I am loved regardless of how I perform”, I turned towards him to make and hold eye contact. The biggest and most beautiful smile came across his face. I did not have any more trouble out of him. He was still active, but no tantrums.

It was a work in progress.



 
3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page